The fourth power unit of the Kursk NPP was temporarily disconnected from the network for repairs


Kursk NPP is one of the top four NPPs of equal capacity in Russia, and its main consumer is the Center energy system, covering 19 regions of the Central Federal District of the Russian Federation. The station was built in two stages: the first – power units No. 1 (launch in 1976) and No. 2 (1979), the second – No. 3 (1983) and No. 4 (1985). The unfinished power unit No. 5 of the third stage is at the stage of conservation; in December 2021, the first power unit was permanently shut down. Each power unit is equipped with an RBMK-1000 reactor, its capacity is 1000 MW.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *